Barnum | Melodic Monk
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-16441,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,paspartu_enabled,qode-theme-ver-13.5,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_top,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.5,vc_responsive

Melodic Monk

  • 'Round Midnight - Max De Aloe Quartet
Update Required To play the media you will need to either update your browser to a recent version or update your Flash plugin.


Release date: May  17th, 2024
code/format: BFA CD 0225

Max De Aloe chromatic harmonica
Roberto Olzer piano
Marco Mistrangelo double bass 
Nicola Stranieri drums

1 ‘Round Midnight – Thelonious Monk & Cootie Williams 7:09
2 Bemsha Swing – Thelonious Monk & Denzil Best 3:41
3 Ugly Beauty – Thelonious Monk 1:59
4 I Mean You – Thelonious Monk & Coleman Hawkins 4:36
5 Vertigo – Max De Aloe 5:50
6 Ask Me Now – Thelonious Monk 7:34
7 In Walked Bud – Thelonious Monk 4:45
8 Pannonica – Thelonious Monk 5:43
9 Ruby, My Dear – Thelonious Monk 4:14

Recording Information:

Recorded March 4th, 2024
Recorded, mixed and mastered by Carlo Cantini at Digitube Studio – Borgo Virgilio-Cerese (Mantova)


A game. A stunning musical game. The music of brilliant composer and pianist Thelonious Monk, presented in an unusual, bizarre, daring and unsettling manner, with a chromatic harmonica leading the dance. A selection of  Thelonious Monk’s compositions entrusted to the melodic and seductive style of Max De Aloe’s harmonica, he’s considered one of the most important jazz harmonica players in Europe.

MELODIC MONK is a wonderful journey throughout Thelonious Monk’s music.